Site News - 2015

No updates July through December.

June Update:  School and vacation limited time once more.  I did manage five articles for the website, thanks to the Chicago Tribune archive.  The articles cover the Phils’ games against the Cubs from May 30-June 1.

 

Sometimes Bad is Bad:  One word can describe the Phils’ recent play:  atrocious.  They currently have the worst record in the major leagues… and it isn’t even close.  Maikel Franco has been a bright spot.  Otherwise, it seems that we’re left waiting around to see what the Phils can get for Cole Hamels and Jonathan Papelbon.

 

Media Update:  Still no movement on this.  Now that I am home for the next few weeks, maybe I can squeeze a few hours into this part of the website.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Now that the Reading Eagle articles are completed, I am planning on going through my stash of articles from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.  I also hope to get started on the sound clips from the 1980 season as well.  

May Update:  This is my busiest time of the year, and this year was no exception.  I did manage to add an odd assortment of articles from the Chicago Tribune.  Time was just too sparse for anything else.

 

Phils Woes:  Few had any illusions about the Phils making the playoffs this year, but their performance thus far shows that the team is multiple seasons away from contending.  It’s going to be a long dry spell, I’m afraid.

 

Media Update:  Not much can be said at this point, there are no new media files.  I want to get ahead on this during the summer – and it’s almost here!

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Now that the Reading Eagle articles are completed, I am planning on going through my stash of articles from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.  I also hope to get started on the sound clips from the 1980 season as well.  

April Update:  Well, I didn’t get started on the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer articles like I had planned.  I did, however, run into a new out-of-town source for a few Phillies articles, from the Chicago Daily Tribune.  I added articles from August 12-14, 1980 this month. 

 

I Mean No Offense:  No baseball fan will confuse this year’s Phillies with the Murders’ Row 1927 Yankees.  Or the Phillies from 2006-2010.  But we’ll keep watching!

 

Media Update:  Again, nothing new to report on this front.  This time of year is just too crazily busy for a teacher.  I hope to make up for this during the summer months.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Now that the Reading Eagle articles are completed, I am planning on going through my stash of articles from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.  I also hope to get started on the sound clips from the 1980 season as well.  

March Update:  The Reading Eagle is done!  I have finished all available articles in my own collection through October 30th, 1980.  I’ll continue to check dates after that, but I think I can safely say that the 1980 season story at told by the Reading Eagle is about as complete as I am capable of making it. 

 

Ready for the Season:  The rotation isn’t exactly Halladay-Lee-Hamels.  The lineup isn’t what it was in 2008.  But this year’s version of the Fightin’ Phils is nearly ready to start the 2015 season.

 

Media Update:  I apologize for the lack of updates in the media sections.  Right now things are just too busy to devote the several hours needed to get this going again.  I hope to make up for this during the summer months.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:   Now that the Reading Eagle articles are completed, I am planning on going through my stash of articles from the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer.  I also hope to get started on the sound clips from the 1980 season as well.  

February Update:  Rough month for free time, but I inched ever closer to finishing off the Reading Eagle articles.  With adding two articles in February, I’m actually all the way to October 27th with the Eagle, so there isn’t much left. 

 

Spring Training:  Though it’s shaping up to be a rough year for the Phils, it is great to see the signs of spring once more. 

 

Media Update:  Just not enough time for this once again.  Maybe with spring break upcoming a few might make it on the site…

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:  Last month, even five articles was a reach (two ended up being the total). I am trying to remain steady with five a month.  

January Update:  Got some articles in following the World Series victory from the Reading Eagle.  Only a day or two left of articles from the end of the season, and then it’s off to the Doylestown Daily Intelligencer!

 

Bye Jimmy:  An era of Phillies baseball is ending with the trade of Jimmy Rollins to the Los Angeles Dodgers.  Rollins’ time with the Phils made him the best shortstop in club history, and quite possibly a Hall of Fame candidate.  It is a sad thing to say goodbye to one of the greats.

 

Media Update:  Time is of the essence… and there just wasn’t enough to make any clips.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Wanted: I am still looking for any and all articles from the 1980 season to include in the website.  In particular, I seek the Philadelphia papers, which I have very limited access to. Anyone that has copies of the Inquirer or the Daily News or other area newspapers please contact me – digital scans are fine by me (and in fact are preferable, as I don’t get in trouble with the wife for cluttering up the house!). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is acceptable.  I am also looking for any YouTube videos from the 1980 season, as Jimdo allows easy connection to these videos. 

 

Future Updates:  This year promises to be a busy one, and a repeat of my goals (7 articles, 2 media clips) is probably a bit optimistic this year.  Kids are older, and becoming more involved in their own sports.  I’ll keep plodding along, though, and try to add at least the five articles per month that was my traditional goal.  Happy New Year!