Site News - 2018

No updates May through December.

April 2018 Update:  Still plugging!  Completed three articles from the April 5, 1980 edition of the Philadelphia Inquirer.  The players were still on strike, but the Phils had decided unanimously to continue meeting as a team to practice, and to even allow Dallas Green to run the practices.  Many teams had gone home during the unexpected week off… maybe the beginning of that magical team chemistry?

 

Play Ball!  Welcome to the Philadelphia Phillies 2018 season!  Let’s go, Fightin’ Phils!

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.  If you see a source for the 1980 Phillies, please let me know, and I will see about adding it to the archive.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

FOUND!  I have found a treasure trove of newspaper articles from the 1980 season.  It will take me years to get through what I have been able to find, thanks to newspapers.com.  I have found articles from the Inquirer and Daily News, as well as newspapers from Wilmington and Allentown.  I am still looking for sources from the old Philadelphia Bulletin (I believe Richie Ashburn did a weekly article that season). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is appreciated. 

 

Future Updates:   I’ll be looking to continue working in the new articles as time allows.  At this point is may not be realistic to promise regular monthly updates, but that is what I am shooting for.  Life continues to be crazy with work, family and other obligations, but I want to try to devote a few hours a month to the archive.

March 2018 Update:  Apparently I'm plugging away one day at a time!  Completed three articles from the April 4, 1980 edition of the Philadelphia Inquirer.  The Spring Training Strike continued, and at least the Inquirer writers were not completely behind the players in the disagreement.  Of course, compared to today’s astronomical figures, the money talked about then seems almost quaint… until I realize that I’m still not making nearly as much money in 2018!

 

Phils Sign Arrieta!  The Phils have added a big piece to their starting rotation in Jake Arrieta.  A Cy Young and World Series winner with the Cubs, Arrieta went 14-10 in 2017 and hopefully will help the Phils in their attempt to rise in the NL East.  He should also prove valuable as a veteran presence in a young pitching staff.  The contract if for three years, plus two club options that could keep Arrieta in Philadelphia through 2022.

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.  If you see a source for the 1980 Phillies, please let me know, and I will see about adding it to the archive.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

FOUND!  I have found a treasure trove of newspaper articles from the 1980 season.  It will take me years to get through what I have been able to find, thanks to newspapers.com.  I have found articles from the Inquirer and Daily News, as well as newspapers from Wilmington and Allentown.  I am still looking for sources from the old Philadelphia Bulletin (I believe Richie Ashburn did a weekly article that season). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is appreciated. 

 

Future Updates:   I’ll be looking to continue working in the new articles as time allows.  At this point is may not be realistic to promise regular monthly updates, but that is what I am shooting for.  Like continues to be crazy with work, family and other obligations, but I want to try to devote a few hours a month to the archive.

February 2018 Update:  Keeping the momentum going… somewhat.  Completed four articles from the April 3, 1980 edition of the Philadelphia Inquirer.  The Phillies’ players had joined their union in staging a late-spring training strike, promising to return for opening day… at least for a while.  The 1980 season almost turned into the disaster that befell the Phils’ 1981 quest to repeat.

 

Spring Training!  The Phils have reported to their spring training base in Clearwater, Florida to begin getting ready for the new season.  Hopefully we can begin to see some growth from this young team.

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.  If you see a source for the 1980 Phillies, please let me know, and I will see about adding it to the archive.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

FOUND!  I have found a treasure trove of newspaper articles from the 1980 season.  It will take me years to get through what I have been able to find, thanks to newspapers.com.  I have found articles from the Inquirer and Daily News, as well as newspapers from Wilmington and Allentown.  I am still looking for sources from the old Philadelphia Bulletin (I believe Richie Ashburn did a weekly article that season). Clippings, photocopies, whatever contains part of the story of the 1980 Phillies is appreciated. 

 

Future Updates:   I’ll be looking to continue working in the new articles as time allows.  At this point is may not be realistic to promise regular monthly updates, but that is what I am shooting for.  Like continues to be crazy with work, family and other obligations, but I want to try to devote a few hours a month to the archive.

January Update:  Finally got back into some action on the website during my winter break.  Broke into the stash of Inquirer articles I found last summer, but never had the time to work with before.  I started with Opening Day, April 11, and then backtracked to the beginning of the month and did the first two days. 

 

Managing Kapler:  Welcome to Philadelphia to the newest manager of the Phillies, Gabe Kapler.  A young manager to work with a young team.  Whether it works remains to be seen, but it is definitely an innovative outlook for the Phillies and their young general manager, Matt Klentak.

 

Media Update:  Nothing to report this month.  If you see a source for the 1980 Phillies, please let me know, and I will see about adding it to the archive.

 

Digital Pictures Needed: I’d still love pictures of the 1980 season If you have something (for free – I’m poor and this is a non-profit site!), please let me know through the contact section.

 

Future Updates:   I’ll be looking to continue working in the new articles as time allows.  At this point is may not be realistic to promise regular monthly updates, but that is what I am shooting for.  Like continues to be crazy with work, family and other obligations, but I want to try to devote a few hours a month to the archive.